Foreign nationals exempted from visa requirements when traveling to Namibia for a maximum period of 90 days per year

Nationals from the countries listed below with whom Namibia has Visa Exemption Agreements are not required to obtain visa and will be allowed to enter into Namibia and get Visitor´s Entry Permit (VEP) endorsement stamps at the Port of entry for the following reasons:

  • Holiday/vacation
  • Visiting friends or relatives
  • Attending workshops (not as facilitator)
  • Attending meetings
  • Exploring of business opportunities
  • Medical treatment
  • Any other purpose other than employment of any kind

Business persons coming to Namibia to work at their subsidiary companies, for example, give training to local staff, conduct audits of their companies, volunteer work of any kind except Conservation tourism etc. are required to apply for employment permits/work visas in terms of Section 27 of the Immigration Control Act (Act No. 7 of 1993) regardless of whether they are citizens of countries which are exempted.

Conservation tourism in Namibia does not require Employment Permits. See Media Release on the website of the Ministry of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security:


Students going to Namibia for internship or Minor Field Study need to apply for visas issued by Ministry of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security.

Please note that airline companies might require machine-readable passport - also when traveling with provisional/emergency passport.


Angola Ireland Seychelles
Armenia Italy Singapore
Australia Japan South Africa
Austria Kazakhstan Spain
Azerbaijan Kenya Swaziland
Belarus Kyrgyzstan Sweden
Belgium Liechtenstein Switzerland
Botswana Lesotho Tajikistan
Brazil Luxembourg Tanzania
Canada Macau (SAR) Turkmenistan
Congo Brazzaville (only Diplomatic/official and service passports) Malawi Ukraine
Cuba Malaysia United Kingdom
Denmark Mauritius United States of America
Finland Moldova Uzbekistan
France Mozambique Venezuela (Diplomatic and official passports only)
Germany Netherlands Zambia
Ghana (only Diplomatic/official and service passports) New Zealand Zimbabwe
Hong Kong Norway
Iceland Portugal  
India (Diplomatic and official passports up to 3 months) Russian Federation  


Holders of Diplomatic and Official passports from the following African countries are exempted from Visa requirements for a maximum period of 90 days per Calendar year:

 Benin  Cote d'Ivoire  The Gambia  Sao Tome and Principe
 Burkina Faso  Djibouti  Guinea  Senegal
 Burundi Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)  Guinea-Bissau Sierra Leone
 Cabo Verde  Egypt  Liberia  Togo
 Cameroon  Equatorial Guinea Madagaskar  Tunisia
 Central African Republic (CAR)  Eritrea Mauritania  Uganda
 Chad  Ethiopia Niger  Saharawi Arab Democratic Republic
 Comoros  Gabon  Rwanda  



The following countries have also exempted Namibian nationals from visa requirements when visiting their countries.

Angola *






South Africa


Brazil Tourist Visa *(When Travelling on official trips/Busniess visa required)

Macau (SAR)


Turkey (diplomatic and official passports)

Congo Brazzaville (only diplomatic, official and service passports)






The Bahamas


Ethiopia(only official business visitors - attending workshops, seminars and official functions of the AU and the UNECA and other UN Organs)


Trinidad and Tobago


Germany (Only diplomatic and official passports up to Three (3) months)

Philippines (diplomatic and official up to 21 days)

United Kingdom


Hong Kong (SAR)


 Venezuela (diplomatic, official and service passports)  

India (diplomatic and official passports up to Three (3) months)




Countries to benefit from Visas upon arrival at Hosea Kutako International Airport, Trans Kalahari Border Post and Walvis Bay Airport


African Countries Other Countries
 Benin Argentina
Burkina Faso Bulgaria
Burundi Cambodia
Cabo Verde Chile
Cameroon Croatia
Central Africa Republic (CAR)             Czech Republic
Chad Ecuador
Comoros Estonia
Cote d'Ivore Greece
Djibuti Hungary
Equatorial Guinea Israel
Eritrea Israel
Gabon Latvia
Gambia Lithuania
Guinea Mexico
Guinea-Bissau Nicaragua
Liberia Paraguay
Madagascar Peru
Mauritania Poland
Niger Romania
Rwanda Slovakia
Sao Tome and Principe South Korea
Sierra Leone Vatican / HolySee
Togo Venezuela
Tunisia Vietnam
Western Sahara Republic Thailand
Uganda Turkey
  United Arab Emirates